My blogged journey to a new marathon PR (personal record) – updated June 18

June 18, 2019

A week into the training, and I’m feeling confident…and happy to see a little bit of needed weight loss to boot. I point that out because the training period for the previous two marathons I’ve run had the benefit of me working an evening job at a restaurant. This meant plenty of time before work to run – even around going to school – and also being actively on my feet for my job meant it was easier to keep maintain a healthy weight. I’m on my feet now, but not nearly as fast paced as I was before. I’m starting this training period around 20 pounds heavier. I don’t expect to be hovering around 170 by the time this marathon rolls around.
I have begin to make adjustments to my sleep pattern by getting to bed a little earlier each night and starting my morning and time on workouts a little earlier. I decided it will be easier to plan the time needs if I calculate out exactly how much time I’ll need for each day’s run, whether it’s a long run, an easy run, a speed run, or a strength run. Looking at the spreadsheet I shared last week, one would notice the different paces each type of run will require. Another decision I have made is that when I get to the speed workouts in a few weeks, the very specific distance and pacing details – transitioning between speed and recovery – will be easier to work through on a treadmill. I hate running on treadmills, but I know it will be infinitely easier than trying to watch my distance and pacing closely while trying to run on city streets.
In reference to that spreadsheet and those calculations, here is a spreadsheet of how much time I will need to prepare for every day throughout the entire training period. The times are in total minutes: Hansons Calendar – Time One thing I noticed is that while I had to adjust my long run day to Tuesday so that its’s on a day off, the workouts on many of the other days, especially later in the training, will require pretty similar time commitments. At least I know far in advance what to be ready for.
My next update: June 25

June 11, 2019

First, my next update is, obviously, being submitted a good 3+ weeks after I said that I would. This is, in part, because having the length of the training plan correspond to the timing of the marathon in October meant delaying the first day. That would have been last week. I had to delay an extra week, make a slight modification to the training schedule, due to a minor back strain. Today, I began my training, and here is what the next 17 weeks will look like for me: Hansons Calendar
I’m going to say I have less concern about my ability to work through this physically. I’ve planned out my long runs for one of days off. I’ve also tried to calculate how long many of the other days will take. My biggest challenge isn’t going to be the long runs. It’s going to be getting enough time in the morning before work for the longer tempo and strength runs. Discipline with my time hasn’t always been a strength. Here’s my opportunity to have a reason to lean.
After reading through the book a second time, I do trust the design to be a tough challenge, but one I can successfully get through to run my best marathon ever. After looking at the pacing equivalencies of various distance, I’ve settled on trying for a finish time of 3:45. Now that I’ve run my first day – an easy run – one of the toughest parts of this is going to be the slower easy runs. The intent of those runs is to build up miles, endurance, and teach the body to use fat for fuel over longer distances. Keeping at a 10:35 pace when my body wanted to go faster. It’s also quite amazing how much your pace can fluctuate with what feels like the smallest of adjustments. I’m sure it’ll get easier.
My next update: June 18

May 9, 2019

I ran a little and biked a lot recreationally when I was younger, but I really only picked up the running bug four years ago as a result of deciding to join a work team in fundraising for Dana-Farber leading up to running the 7 mile Falmouth Road Race. The following year, I ran 18 road races, mostly 5K’s, with a couple 10k’s and a half marathon. When I ran my first 5K, a 10k and 7 miles were big deals. Never could I see running a half, let alone a full marathon. I imagine it’s the same for most beginning runners. Then, I kept pushing myself and, knowing that the last big deal was once the unattainable, I looked to the next. Suddenly, training runs are longer than the race I was once working up to.
I finally ran my first marathon on May 7, 2017 – 6 days before college graduation. At 4:00:24, I was happy to finish but it wasn’t the pace my training runs has led me to believe I’d be able to achieve. I also got behind and my longest long run wasn’t long enough, in my mind. I spent two months with an injury.
The following year, on April 16, 2018, I ran the Boston Marathon. I told myself I’d train better, smarter, more intentionally. But, a less active year outside of running due to no loner walking all over campus made staying in good condition tougher. The day finally came, the worst conditions in years, and I was happy to finish in 4:56:52. I wondered if this would be my last one.
I’m ready again. I’m also concerned. It takes me longer to recover, and I can’t put up the weekly miles I see other marathoners putting up without risking an injury related to over working. I’ve gone through occasional bouts of mild shin splints and plantar fasciitis. But, I want to try. I’ve heard good things about Hansons Marathon Method, particularly the program’s focus on using training miles intelligently rather than focusing on putting up as many miles as possible. I’ve read the opening chapter that focuses on muscle type and use, and how training changes the body’s ability to adjust. There’s a real “trust the process” attitude. So, I’m going to try the process. This week, I’m finishing a 4-week challenge on an app I use, and then I’m looking at a 5K on May 18th. After that, I’m going to begin this program. I’m planning to run a marathon on October 6th – roughly 5 1/2 months to make this work. It’s my plan to add to this journal on a weekly basis, with not just run details but how I feel about my progress. I’m publishing this to keep myself committed, and also hoping that perhaps I can inspire others. My happy goal is finishing with a PR (personal record) of under 4 hours. My real goal is under 3:30. My dream goal is attaining a BQ (Boston Qualifier) in under 3:10
My next update: May 20th

Leave a comment

Filed under Running

Leave a comment